Chicago Zoning Ordinance · Title 17-12

Chicago sign permit — will your storefront sign get rejected?

By USSignCode Editorial · Last updated October 11, 2026 · How we check this page

In Chicago, your legal sign size is tied to your zoning district and your street frontage — in square feet, a B1 lot gets 3 × street frontage or 600, whichever is less, and a C2 lot 5 × street frontage or 1,800, whichever is less (§17-12-1003-E). Enter your address. We pull your zoning and flag the risk before you file a permit that bounces.

State Street and the Chicago Theatre sign

Chicago sign permit at a glance

QuestionShort answer
How big can my signs be in total?Set by zoning district and street frontage: a B1 lot gets 3 × street frontage or 600, whichever is less, and a C2 lot 5 × street frontage or 1,800, whichever is less (§17-12-1003-E) (district table). Other cities compared.
Freestanding sign?50% of the maximum total sign area limit. Other cities compared.
When does City Council get involved?A sign over 100 sq ft, or higher than 24 ft above grade, requires a City Council order in addition to the standard permit (why signs get rejected).
Which signs need no permit?Among others, an adhesive or static cling window sign and a temporary paper, fabric or vinyl window sign for no more than 60 days, as long as all signage in a single window does not exceed 25% of the glazing area (permits and fees). Other cities compared.
What does it cost?The zoning review fee is $200 for Business Identification signs; the building review fee is set by area, from $50.00 for 0-49 square feet to $1,000.00 for 500 square feet or larger.
How long does it take?The Department of Buildings publishes no review or processing time for sign permits, so this page gives none. Other cities compared.
How do I file?Online in the Department of Buildings E-permit section; an application without a site plan is returned (procedure).
Who can install it?A business owner can install a sign themselves, unless the sign needs stamped drawings under 14E-6-600.28; then a licensed general contractor must be listed on the application. Electrical work needs a registered electrical contractor. Other cities compared.
Window signs?A temporary window sign of paper, fabric or vinyl needs no permit for no more than 60 days, if it covers 25% or less of the window. Other cities compared.
Sidewalk A-frame sign?A separate BACP permit at $100 per year, for storefronts outside the Central Business District; one per street address, no larger than six square feet per face and no taller than four feet (sidewalk signs). Other cities compared.
Grand opening banner?Only a paper, fabric or vinyl sign in a window, for no more than 60 days, is exempt from a permit. (details) Other cities compared.
Already installed without a permit?After a stop work order, work can resume only once you get the permit and pay the stop work order penalty ($1,000+); in most cases the building permit fee is then tripled (Department of Buildings). Other cities compared.
When does the permit run out?The city’s supplemental sign permit application says the permit is valid for a period of five years after issuance and that the owner or lessee must file for renewal; once the zoning fee is paid, the application itself is valid for up to six months (application form). Other cities compared.
This checks on-premise business signs — a sign identifying your own business at your location. Billboards / off-premise signs are not covered.
The width of your zoning lot along the street. §17-12-1003-E sets your total sign area from it.
Only lots with more than 75 ft of frontage on such a street get a freestanding sign taller than 24 ft.

Why signs fail By district How to apply FAQ District table Permit & fees Full procedure Timeline Sidewalk signs Sign companies

Why Chicago signs get rejected

Chicago regulates on-premise signs by zoning district under Chapter 17-12 of the Zoning Ordinance. The other trap is size and position: any sign over 100 sq ft or more than 24 ft above ground level needs a City Council order, and any sign or sign apparatus that extends over the sidewalk, parkway, street or alley needs a Public Way Use Permit and a City Council ordinance on top of the sign permit (Department of Buildings, Sign Permits).

This tool reads the same zoning rules the Department of Buildings enforces and tells you where your plan stands before you pay for fabrication or file a permit.

Chicago sign rules by district

Maximum total sign area by district, from the §17-12-1003-E table. Multiply your street frontage in feet by the factor; your total is that figure or the cap, whichever is less.

DistrictMaximum total sign area (square feet)
B1 / B23 × street frontage or 600, whichever is less
DC / DX5 × street frontage or 800, whichever is less
B3 / C1 / C3 / DS4 × street frontage or 1,500, whichever is less
C2 / M5 × street frontage or 1,800, whichever is less

Source: Chicago Zoning Ordinance §17-12-1003-E. Freestanding signs may use up to 50% of the total; wall signs are capped at 33% of the wall area; ground-floor tenants are guaranteed at least 32 sq ft. Whether a flashing or animated sign is allowed is set elsewhere in Chapter 17-12, in a part this page could not read, so the page makes no claim about it. Zoning Ordinance §17-12-1003-E (2026 S-74) · read 2026-10-02

How to apply for a Chicago sign permit — 5 steps

Chicago splits into a zoning review and the permit itself, and two thresholds can add a whole extra approval on top.

1. Check your district cap first
All signs on the lot count toward the district total in §17-12-1003-E, so add up what is already up before you size the new sign.
2. Test the two escalation thresholds
A sign over 100 sq ft, or higher than 24 ft above grade, requires a City Council order in addition to the standard permit.
3. File the on-premise zoning review
The zoning review is the first filing for a business identification sign.
4. Add public-way approval if it applies
A sign, sign structure or floodlight that extends over the public way (sidewalk, parkway, street or alley) needs a Public Way Use Permit and a City Council Ordinance, an extra step beyond the standard path.
5. Complete the full sign permit
The Department of Buildings enforces the zoning rules this page reads, and the full permit follows the reviews above.

Steps assembled from the confirmed items on this page. The city’s own filing route is set out in “The Chicago sign permit procedure”, and its fee schedules and permit exemptions in “Do you need a permit, and what does it cost?”, both below. The city publishes no processing time.

What other cities ask you to submit: sign permit application checklists by city.

Questions owners ask — 6 questions
Does illumination cut my allowance like in NYC?
Not in the area table. The §17-12-1003-E maximum total sign area depends on district and street frontage and has no illumination factor. Rules on flashing or animated signs sit elsewhere in Chapter 17-12, which this page could not read, so confirm a flashing or digital sign with the Zoning Administrator before you order it.
When do I need a permit?
A sign over 100 sq ft or higher than 24 ft above grade requires a City Council order in addition to the standard permit. The on-premise zoning review fee is $200.00. DOB Sign Permits · verified 2026-09-29
Who can install it?
A business owner can install a sign themselves, unless the sign needs stamped drawings by a licensed architect or structural engineer under 14E-6-600.28; then a licensed general contractor must be listed on the permit application. Stamped drawings are required for, among others, new sign boxes or channel letters, signs over 200 lb, projecting signs with a face over 100 sq ft, signs entirely above the roof, and ground-supported signs whose top is more than 24 ft above grade. Any electrical work must be done by a registered electrical contractor listed on the application. DOB Sign Permits · read 2026-10-10
How much is a Chicago sign permit fee?
The city lists two fees. DOB Sign Permits · verified 2026-09-29 The zoning review fee is $200.00 for an on-premise sign and $500.00 for an off-premise sign. DOB Sign Permits · verified 2026-09-29 The building review fee is set by the sign’s area: $50.00 for 0–49 sq ft, $100.00 for 50–99, $200.00 for 100–199, $500.00 for 200–499, and $1,000.00 at 500 sq ft and above. DOB Sign Permits · verified 2026-09-29
Which signs do not need a permit in Chicago?
The city lists these among the exceptions. DOB Sign Permits · verified 2026-09-29 Temporary window signs of paper, fabric or vinyl displayed under 60 days and covering 25% or less of the window. DOB Sign Permits · verified 2026-09-29 Window decals or adhesive signs covering 25% or less of the window. DOB Sign Permits · verified 2026-09-29 Incidental signs — an address, an open/closed sign, a restroom sign — carrying no business name. DOB Sign Permits · verified 2026-09-29 Official or warning signs required by law. DOB Sign Permits · verified 2026-09-29 Everything else needs a permit, and off-premise signs always do. DOB Sign Permits · verified 2026-09-29
Is this an official ruling?
No. This is a first-pass risk filter on public zoning data, not a permit and not legal advice. Final dimensions are confirmed by a licensed Chicago sign professional.
What each district actually allows: the §17-12-1003-E table

These standards apply to all permanent signs in B, C, M, DC, DX and DS districts. The rows are reproduced as the ordinance table states them — the area and height units sit in the row labels, and “whichever is less” means your total is the smaller of the per-foot figure and the cap.

StandardB1, B2DC, DXB3, C1, C3, DSC2, M
Maximum total sign area (square feet)3 × street frontage or 600, whichever is less5 × street frontage or 800, whichever is less4 × street frontage or 1,500, whichever is less5 × street frontage or 1,800, whichever is less
Max. freestanding sign area50% of the maximum total sign area limit above
Maximum freestanding sign height (feet)24; or 35 if located on a zoning lot with more than 75 feet of street frontage on a single street that has a right-of-way width of more than 80 feet; or 50 feet if located on a zoning lot with more than 150 feet of frontage on a single street with a right-of-way width or more than 80 feet
Minimum guaranteed wall sign area for ground-floor tenants32 sq ft
Maximum wall sign area33% of the building wall area

The ordinance works its own example: a lot with 50 feet of street frontage in the B1 district is allowed a total of 150 square feet of total sign area, with no more than 75 square feet of freestanding signs.

For lots greater than 1 acre in area with multiple street frontages, the maximum total sign area standards apply per street frontage.

Source: Zoning Ordinance §17-12-1003-E (2026 S-74) · read 2026-10-02

Do you need a permit, and what does it cost?

When a permit is always required

A sign permit is always required for an off-premise sign.

Detail

The requirement is stated without exception, so none of the exemptions below reach an off-premise sign.

These are two separate charges named on two separate city pages — one a zoning review fee by sign type, the other a building review fee by sign area. Neither page states that both are charged on every application, so this section does not add them into a single figure.

Source: City of Chicago — Department of Buildings, Sign Permits, read 2026-10-02.

Signs that do not require a permit

Source: City of Chicago — Department of Buildings, Sign Permits, read 2026-10-02.

The two review fees

The zoning review fee is $200 for Business Identification signs and $500 for Advertising signs.

Source: City of Chicago — Signs: Business Identification (On-Premise) and Advertising (Off-Premise), read 2026-10-02.

The building review fee is set by the area of the sign: 0-49 square feet: $50.00; 50-99 square feet: $100.00; 100-199 square feet: $200.00; 200-499 square feet: $500.00; 500 square feet or larger: $1,000.00.

Source: City of Chicago — Department of Buildings, Sign Permits, read 2026-10-02.

The Chicago sign permit procedure, as the city’s own permit pages state it

How the application is filed

Sign applications are created and processed on-line in the Department of Buildings E-permit section. An application that does not include a site plan is considered incomplete and returned. The fee is paid by credit card at the application stage of the permit process.

Source: City of Chicago — Signs: Business Identification (On-Premise) and Advertising (Off-Premise), read 2026-10-02.

Who has to draw it and who has to install it

Sign types enumerated in 14E-6-600.28 require engineered, stamped architectural or structural drawings. Where those drawings are required, a licensed general contractor is required. Electrical work requires a registered electrical contractor.

Source: City of Chicago — Department of Buildings, Sign Permits, read 2026-10-02.

The processing time is not published in the city’s own guidance, so this page does not state one.

Timeline & temporary banners

How long does approval take?
Any sign over 100 sq ft or higher than 24 ft above ground needs a City Council Order, which adds significant time — start the week you sign your lease.
Can I hang a "Grand Opening" banner first?
The exemption the city publishes for temporary signs is narrow: a temporary on-premise sign made wholly of paper, fabric, vinyl or similar material and attached to a window for no more than 60 days needs no permit, provided all signage in that window covers no more than 25% of the glazing. A banner outside those limits is not covered by that exemption.

Source: City of Chicago Department of Buildings (Sign Permits). Fees change — confirm current figures with the Department of Buildings before filing.

Detail

Permit fees are set out in “The two review fees” above.

The city page states no review or processing time, so this page gives none.

Sources & how this page is maintained

Sources and official references: City of Chicago — Sign Permits (Department of Buildings). Chicago Zoning Ordinance §17-12-1003-E (2026 S-74), American Legal Publishing. Measured on 21 August 2026: this city page carries the permit-fee amounts and the area thresholds quoted here. The 33% wall-coverage cap and the 32 sq ft ground-floor tenant minimum were read from the Chicago Zoning Ordinance §17-12-1003-E on 21 September 2026. The window-sign percentage this page used to quote has been removed: no readable copy of the current ordinance carried it. Re-read on 2 October 2026 against two city pages — the Department of Buildings sign permit page and the Department of Planning and Development page on business identification and advertising signs. What those two pages state is set out above in “Do you need a permit, and what does it cost?”: the off-premise permit rule, five exemptions, the $200 / $500 zoning review fees and the five-band building review fee schedule; and in “The Chicago sign permit procedure”: the on-line E-permit filing route with the site-plan requirement and credit-card payment, and the drawing and contractor requirements for the sign types enumerated in 14E-6-600.28. Both readings are stored verbatim in monitors/srccache. The four sections written from the 29 September 2026 reading were replaced by those two sections rather than kept beside them, so the same figures are not stated twice on this page. That page states no review or processing time, so this page gives none. Removed on 29 September 2026: the duplicate “What does a Chicago sign permit cost?” FAQ, together with its “paid by credit card up front before zoning review” wording and its citations to Municipal Code 17-13-0103-A and 13-32-310(E) — none of the three appear on the Department of Buildings sign permit page registered as this page’s source. The fee amounts themselves are on that page and are kept, in the fee section above and in the “How much is a Chicago sign permit fee?” FAQ.

Last inspected against the official code: October 2026 · confirm current rules with the city before you file

Sidewalk (A-frame) signs

A sidewalk sign, such as an A-frame or T-frame set out on the public way, does not go through the Department of Buildings sign permit. It takes a separate permit from the Department of Business Affairs and Consumer Protection (BACP), open to storefront businesses outside the Central Business District with a valid Chicago business license. The permit runs five years from the date of issuance and costs $100 per year. The application needs a plan or sketch of the sign with its dimensions and wording, and proof of commercial general liability insurance.

What the sign itself must meet under Municipal Code 10-28-395:

Sources: BACP Sidewalk Signs page and Sidewalk Sign regulations, 10-28-395, read 10 October 2026.

Chicago sign companies that say they handle the permit

We are not affiliated with any of them and we are not paid to list them. Confirm licensing and pricing yourself before you hire.

CompanyPhoneLocationWhat their site says about permitsIn-house
TFA Signs773-267-60075500 N Kedzie Ave, Chicago IL 60625Files the permit applications with the Chicago Department of BuildingsFamily-owned since 1995, in-house fabrication, City of Chicago Class E general contractor TGC101080
SignFreaks(872) 250-4743320 W Ohio St Suite 3W, Chicago IL 60654Manages the paperwork for permitting, zoning approvals and compliance25+ years, design, fabrication and installation, licensed and bonded
Chicago Signs and Screen Printing312-273-18333921 W Dickens Ave, Chicago IL 60647Installation and permit procurement availableNot stated on their site
Detail

Compiled from each company's own public website.

Each company's website is linked from its name. Source pages read 6 October 2026.

Not sure your sign qualifies? Send your dimensions and we will tell you how the Chicago code reads for it →

Ask us how the code reads for your sign

Send your dimensions and we will reply with what the Chicago code allows for that sign. No charge. We are not a sign contractor and not a permit agent.